Archive | Alerts RSS feed for this section

Tentative 2018 Race Schedule

28 Feb

Happy grey Wednesday morning!! Without further adieu, here is the tentative 2018 VCL Race Schedule.

April 4th – 2017 Wrap / 2018 Launch Party at Sports View Lounge – Oak Bay Rec Centre (more details to follow).

2018 VCL tentative



Schedule Change – Caleb Pike

31 Jul

Please be advised, the Sunday August 6th Caleb race has been moved to Wednesday August 16th – 6:30 start time.


Broad Street Cycles VCL Omnium

16 Jun

Broad Street Cycles VCL Omnium! Or should we say … KOMnium?

We’ve had some weird weather lately, with words like ‘rain’ and ‘Juneuary’ being thrown around, so it’s time to heat things up with MORE RACING!

So, in conjunction with Victoria Cycling League (VCL), we’re hosting an Omnium event! This Sunday through Wednesday, June 18-21.
Some of you may have noticed this event on VCL’s website. We’ve had to adapt a little with Observatory HC’s cancellation but, with ALL THESE PRIZES TO GIVE AWAY the race must go on!! This will be a three event Omnium, comprised of:

1) Mt. Doug STRAVA Challenge – June 18/19
2) Sidney TT – June 21 – Sidney Velo
3) Caleb Pike Road Race – June 22 – Dr. Walker Cycling

Full details, including prize structure, categories, and helpful Strava tips for the uninitiated will be available Noon, Friday June 16th at:


Windsor Park Start Times – May 21, 2017

20 May

C Race – 8:30 AM – Sign on begins at 8:00 AM

B Race – 9:15 AM – Sign on as soon as C Race begins

A Race – 10:30 AM – Sign on as soon as B Race begins.


Results – Speedway #3 – May 17, 2017

17 May

(Almost) Full Race Results are available here – Powered by IRC.

There were/are issues figuring out many of the non-point placings in the A Race, they will be added as (and if) they are figured out.

B Race
1st Place – Rich Martin – Wheelers
2nd Place – Aedan Crocker – Tripleshot
3rd Place – Thomas Hill – Tripleshot

B Women
1st Place – Denise Mahon – ProKitty Raacing (8th overall)
2nd Place – Deborah Snell – Wheelers – (12th overall)
3rd Place – Saskia Kowallik – Wheelers – (13th overall)

C Race
1st Place – James Holtz – O2
2nd Place – Remy Garrison – Tripleshot
3rd Place – Alan Boden –

C Women
1st Place – Lindsey Chamberlain – (4th overall)
2nd Place – Laura Morrissey – Tripleshot (5th overall)

A Race
1st Place – Mitchell Ketler – Smart Savvy Garneau
2nd Place – Nick Monette – Wheelers
3rd Place Isaac LeBlanc – Wheelers

A Women
1st Place – Megan Rathwell – Broadstreet


Results – Speedway #1 – May 3, 2017

3 May

Full race results are available here – Powered by IRC.

C Race
1st Place – Remy Garrison – Tripleshot
2nd Place – Casey Garrison – Tripleshot
3rd Place – James Holtz – O2

C Women
1st Place – Casey Garrison – Tripleshot (2nd overall)
2nd Place – Rowan Belanger – ProCity (6th overall)
3rd Place – Talia Hill – Tripleshot (9th overall)

B Race
1st Place – Vinko Poldrugovac
2nd Place – Roland Rabien – ProCity
3rd Place – Trevor Orme – IRC

B Women
1st Place – Denise Mahon – ProCity (6th overall)
2nd Place – Brenna Pauly – Tripleshot (12th overall)
3rd Place – Deborah Snell – Wheelers (13th overall)

A Race
1st Place – Eugene Hahn – Wheelers
2nd Place – Isaac LeBlanc – Wheelers
3rd Place – Maxim Ellison – Wheelers

A Women
1st Place – Erin Attwell – Trek Red Truck (17th overall)


May 3rd – Speedway

2 May

Note from Tripleshot

Sign-up starts at 5:30 pm


C: 6 pm

B: 6:30 pm

A: 7:15 pm

Add 30 minutes to start times as the days get longer (either next week or the week after. I will let you all know).

If you get dropped you can jump back in when the pack comes round again, as Lister mentioned.  Yes, don’t challenge for the sprint if you are a lap down, unless you’ve been given a ‘free lap’ by the organizers.

This year we will have a 2-sprint finish if there are two or more people in the field that have lapped the group.  That will be explained in more detail on site, but the short-version is this:  First bell for the field followed by a second bell for the lap-ahead leaders a few laps later.

No disks, no enclosed wheels, no fixed-wheels.

No free 2nd race for the winners this year…. because you’ll be busy accepting your awards.

Finally, try to arrive with a $10 bill.  Making change can be an issue.  Or, if you have a twenty, offer to pay for someone else this week in return for a freebie next.